Gippsland League features prominently in the Top 100 Country Footballers since 2000

The Weekly Times has released their list of the top 100 country footballers since 2000. Below is the list of the Gippsland League players who made the final cut.

Weekly Times RankPlayerClub
99Joel SoutarMorwell
94James GibbsBairnsdale
92Jason MacFarlaneMorwell, Moe
84Chris DunneLeongatha, Drouin
80Bob McCallumDrouin
74Nick HiderMaffra
73Kane MartinSale
69Gary JonesMaffra
59Andrew SoumilasDrouin, Garfield
58Sam PlemingMaffra
54Greg MorleyTraralgon
52Tom MarriottLeongatha
48Adrian BurgielMaffra, Moe
27Kelvin PorterMaffra
20Hayden BurgielMaffra
10Ben ColemanMaffra

Gippsland League players make up 16% of the list with players who have spent the prime of their careers in the League. There are also names including Brendan Fevola & Dean Polo who have played cameos within the League. It is a great recognition of the talent that has played at the top level in Gippsland since the turn of the century.

Unsurprisingly Maffra who dominated the past 20 years also dominate the Gippsland League presence with 7 players listed. Ben Coleman made the top 10 while several other Trood and Rodda award winning Eagles feature prominently including Hayden Burgiel 20, Kel Porter at 27, Gary Jones 69 and Nick Hider at 74.

Maffra's Kelvin Porter won the 2013 Trood Award & Rodda medal and was a 6 time team of the year member during the 2010's

Leongatha who have dominated in recent years feature two of their stars with Tom Marriott at 52 and Chris Dunne at 84. Dunne also played with Drouin in the early 2010’s and his fellow teammates from that era Bob McCallum (80) and Andy Soumilas (59) make the cut. Joel Soutar and Jason McFarlane are former Morwell players to make the list while rivals Traralgon surprisingly only manage to have Greg Morley make the final 100.

Gippsland League available stats from 2010-2020

99Joel SoutarMorwell1818978771
94James GibbsBairnsdale9227340504
92Jason MacFarlaneMorwell, Moe143N/A3
84Chris DunneLeongatha, Drouin12036839135
80Bob McCallumDrouin12912392856
74Nick HiderMaffra-----
73Kane MartinSale1611921041206
69Gary JonesMaffra769723481
59Andrew SoumilasDrouin4120N/A372
58Sam PlemingMaffra761944304
54Greg MorleyTraralgon-----
52Tom MarriottLeongatha12481751025
48Adrian BurgielMaffra, Moe62148147
27Kelvin PorterMaffra17088108856
20Hayden BurgielMaffra3821N/A15
10Ben ColemanMaffra873452391

League Leading Goalkickers Featured

Adrian Burgiel – 2007  (64 goals)

Chris Dunne – 2016 (65 goals) , 2018 (68 goals)

One of the most lethal marksman in the past 20 years Leongatha's Chris Dunne also made the NT Thunder team of the decade

Trood Award & Rodda Medal winners Featured

2001 – Hayden Burgiel (31 votes)

2002 – Gary Jones (20 votes)

2003 – Greg Morley (17 votes)

2004 – Hayden Burgiel (28 votes)

2005 – Andrew Soumilas (23 votes) - Garfield

2007 – Nick Hider (23 votes)

2008 – Nick Hider (24 votes)

2010 – Gary Jones (26 votes)

2011 – Andrew Soumilas (25 votes) - Drouin

2013 – Kelvin Porter (20 votes)

2015 – Bob McCallum (23 votes)

2017 -  Kane Martin (21 votes)

2018 – Tom Marriott (26 votes)

Bob McCallum was a perenial Gippsland League team of the year member and feature in Victoria Country representative teams

Most Valuable Player Award winners featured

2007 – Nick Hider

2008 – Ben Coleman

2011- Andrew Soumilas

2012 – Kane Martin

2013 – Kelvin Porter

2014 – James Gibbs

2016 – Tom Marriott

2012 League MVP, 2017 League B&F, Six time team of the year member, 2012 premiership player. Sale's Kane Martin is one of the most decorated players in the Gippsland League and polled the most League B&F votes between 2010-2020 with 120 votes.

To put together a list of the top 100 players across all the country football leagues is no easy task and while not all players would be able to make the list. There are a few Gippsland League stars that may consider themselves unlucky to miss the final 100 cut. At the turn of the decade the League compiled some of the key stats from the decade. From the Gippsland League research from the 2010 – 2020 decade there are a few names that maybe unlucky to miss the final 100.

MISSED THE CUT2010-2020 stats
James BlaserMoe15318390766
Darren SheenMaffra8135340263
Matt FergusonSale7025518342
Shane FyfeSale1551050282
Brad ScalzoWarragul722757474
Cade MaskellLeongatha10024349244
Mark CollisonTraralgon, Warragul925762605

To view the full story click through here